A Breakdown Of Spain’s 4 Catalonian Provinces

Each of Catalonia’s province has promoted industries and an allure to travelers.

Catalonia, Spain
Catalonia. Photo by Miriam Espacio on Unsplash

Catalonia, one of Spain’s autonomous communities, consists of four provinces: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida and Tarragona. After each became part of the region in 1979, together, they have fostered several industries as well as an appeal to travelers.


Barcelona. Photo by Dimitry Anikin on Unsplash

Formed in 1833, the province of Barcelona has developed a distinct economy partly for its diverse landscape. Consisting of the Pyrenees mountain range, central depression, littoral ranges, scarps and basins of Catalonia’s interior and coastal ranges and plains; Barcelona produces goods such as lignite from its mountainous region, salt from the Cardona Valley, grapes from Vic’s plains and grains from the depression.

The province has established a notable tourism industry due to its beaches, climate and historical sites. One can enjoy spots like Parc Güell, the Sagrada Família, Casa Milà and Casa Batlló in the city of Barcelona. Additionally, one can savor the province’s nightlife, which can be experienced in the city as well.


Girona catalonia
Girona. Image by Irene Lasus Almirón from Pixabay

The northeasternmost province of Spain, Girona is bordered by the Pyrenees and France to the north, the Mediterranean Sea to the east and Barcelona and Lleida provinces to the west. The province has developed a forest industry due to its relatively cold climate, as well as one including the production of cereals, corn and fish.

Along Costa Brava, the tourism industry is important, as one can explore the Jardins de Santa Clotilde, Playa de Fenals, Muralles de Tossa de Mar and Ruïnes d’Empúries. One may also explore medieval structures in Girona, such as: Girona Cathedral. Interestingly, this site was used as the exterior for the Great Sept of Baelor in Game of Thrones.


Lleida catalonia
Lleida. Image by Matías Ramón Sánchez Manzanera from Pixabay

Situated partly in the Mediterranean area of the Pyrenees, Lleida is home to noteworthy views of the Arán and Cerdanya valleys as well as many rivers. The province is also characterized by the plain of its southern half, which contributes to the trade of cattle, wine, wool and timber.

Lleida also produces fruits and olive oil in towns like Borjas Blancas, where visitors can immerse themselves in the manufacturing process by taking part in tours of the mills. Travelers may explore natural and historical sites and landmarks as well, including: Turo Seu Vella, Parc de la Mitjana and Parc Astronòmic Montsec.

Although it is the second smallest Catalonian province in terms of population, its tourism industry is growing, which may bring more visitors to its noteworthy towns and sites.


Tarragona catalonia
Tarragona. Photo by jasmyn jacobs on Unsplash

A province comprised of a coastal plain and mountainous landscape, Tarragona is known for almonds, hazelnuts, olives, rice, tomatoes and wines. Given this, there are several tours one can take to immerse themselves in the province’s agricultural market.

There are also tourist activities located in seaside resorts, such as Salou, and visitors can engage in their surroundings in the summer by windsurfing or sailing. One can also see ancient and medieval structures by exploring the Ferreres Aqueduct, a bridge that was used to supply water to Tarraco, which is currently known as the city of Tarragona, and Tarragona Cathedral, a Roman Catholic Church dating back to the 12th century.

Ray Lewis

Content Editor Associate

Originally from New Jersey, Ray developed a passion for traveling through his adventures in Europe. He created unforgettable memories in Greece and Italy, but is looking to explore more countries in different parts of the world as well.

Jetset Times in your inbox

Sign-up for our newsletter

By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy.