European Parliament Has Decided: No More Visa-Free Travel For Americans


Apparently, it’s a game of tit-for-tat. Traveling between European countries may be more of a hassle for Americans in the future.

SEE ALSO: Check Out Breathtaking Pics From The First Underwater Museum In Europe

On Thursday, the European Parliament voted to pass a non-binding resolution to reintroduce visa requirements for American citizens since United States has yet to lift travel requirements for certain European citizens including travelers from: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania.

British lawmaker, Claude Moraes, who leads the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs in the European Parliament told The New York Times:

You’re talking about citizens from countries, like Poland, with a major diaspora. You’re really seeing frustration and anger, and without any timetable, this is becoming increasingly seen as second-class treatment.

If U.S. does not offer reciprocity to all European Union citizens, the Parliament is giving European Commission two months to take legal action to enforce visa requirement for American travelers to the EU.

Three years ago, European Commission were notified that U.S., Australia, Brunei, Canada and Japan were countries failing to provide reciprocal visa-free travel to citizens of certain European Union countries. Australia, Brunei and Japan have individually settled the issue with EU and Canada is about to activate an agreement in December for Bulgarians and Romanians traveling to the True North. The U.S., however, has yet to make any resolutions.

For awhile, European officials in Brussels have hesitated making traveling in European harder for Americans due to economic concerns. But all may change in the next few weeks. We’ll keep you posted.

What do you think of this vote? Share with us in the comments.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.